For the Press

Lawrence B. Gibbs and John L. Buckley Elected to Tax Analysts Board of Directors

September 28, 2011

Gibbs Was IRS Commissioner; Buckley Was House Ways and Means Committee's Chief Democratic Tax Counsel

FALLS CHURCH, VA — Tax Analysts, the nonprofit publisher of Tax Notes and many other print and online products on tax policy and administration, announced today that its Board of Directors has elected Lawrence B. Gibbs and John L. Buckley as members, effective immediately.


"We are so pleased to have Larry Gibbs and John Buckley join the board," said Christopher Bergin, Tax Analysts president and publisher and also a board member. "They will bring a wealth of experience and perspective to what is already a prominent and knowledgeable board. We look forward to their leadership as we continue to pursue our mission."

Gibbs, the IRS Commissioner from 1986 to 1989, is a member of the law firm Miller Chevalier. Buckley, the Chief Democratic Tax Counsel for the House Ways and Means Committee from 1995 to 2010, is a professor in the Georgetown Law Center's graduate tax program.

Gibbs and Buckley join a board that includes former top government officials and other tax experts. Along with Bergin, its members include Pamela F. Olson, a former Treasury Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy; Michael J. Murphy, a former IRS Acting Commissioner; Larry Langdon, a former IRS Commissioner for Large & Mid-Size Business; and Martin Lobel, the board chair and a former aide to U.S. Sen. William Proxmire.

For a full list of board members and to learn more about Tax Analysts, visit the Tax Analysts website.